• Vermont Division for Historic Preservation


    AttractionsHistoric Sites

    About Us

    The Vermont Division for Historic Preservation’s State-Owned Historic Sites Program encourages the discovery and appreciation of our rich heritage through the stewardship and interpretation of historic sites that evoke an authentic sense of time and place. One way that the state-owned historic sites fulfill this mission is through an active exhibition program. Most of the sites have permanent exhibitions that interpret their unique history, as well as regularly changing displays that focus on specialized subjects.

    There are Nine (9) Vermont State Owned Historic Sites operated seasonally across Vermont. Chimney Point (Addison) and Mount Independence (Orwell) in Addison County. Hubbardton Battlefield (Hubbardton) in nearby Rutland County. Other sites: Bennington Battle Monument (Bennington), Old Constitution House (Windsor), Justin Smith Morrill Homestead (Strafford), Pres. Chester A. Arthur SHS (Fairfield), and President Calvin Coolidge SHS (Plymouth).