The New Creative Space & Sean Dye Studio Opens in Vergennes

Home | Chamber | Newsroom | The New Creative Space & Sean Dye Studio Opens in Vergennes

The New Creative Space & Sean Dye Studio Opens in Vergennes

By Sue Hoxie

New Main Street Location Feature Works from 45+ Artists

Vergennes, Vermont – November 25, 2014 – The Addison County Chamber of Commerce congratulates Creative Space & Sean Dye Studio on the opening of its new gallery on Vergennes’ Main Street. Now located at 214 Main Street, the gallery and studio is open Wednesday through Saturday, 12 to 5 p.m. and Sunday 12 to 4 p.m. Its telephone number is 802-877-3850 and can be found on the web at

Vergennes Mayor William Benton, Renny Perry, representing the Vergennes Partnership, and Shanon Atkins, representing the Addison County Chamber, joined artists Eloise Beil, Marsha Chase, Sean Dye, Laura Fall and Celia Oliver on Friday November 21 to cut the ribbon, launching the grand opening of Creative Space & Sean Dye Studio. More than 130 guests stopped in during the evening to enjoy music by acoustic guitarist Matteo Palmer as they browsed the array of artwork by some 45 Vermont artists. "I am thrilled that Creative Space has a Main Street location once again," said Mayor Bill Benton.

The all-volunteer co-op Creative Space Gallery got its start five years ago, and recently teamed up with artist Sean Dye, to welcome visitors to new space for exhibitions and Dye's painting studio. Member artists, who work in a wide range of media, will offer classes and demonstrations as well as exhibits.

The opening exhibit includes:

  • Paintings: Oil and acrylic: Eloise Beil, Carol Calhoun, Sean Dye, Georgina Forbes, Karin Hardy, Kathy Mitchell, Judith Rey, Annie Watson, Sarah Wesson
  • Pastels: Fiona Cooper Fenwick, Karin Hardy, Celia Oliver
  • Encaustic and mixed media: Marilyn Gillis, Catherine Hall, Bonnie Melnick, Judith Rey, Janet Seaburg, Deanna Shapiro, Sarah Wesson
  • Watercolors: Annemie Curlin, Libby Davidson, Kathrena Ravenhorst-Adams
  • Printmaking: Lyna Lou Nordstrom, Janet Seaburg, Sarah Wesson, (also cards and prints by member artists, and creative kits for young artists by Libby Davidson)
  • Fiber Arts: Deb Allen, felting; Marsha Chase, felting, eco printed silk scarves; Judith Giusto, felted jewelry, Tamara Wight, basketmaking
  • Glass: Bud Shriner, handblown glass; Alyssa Oxley, fused/kiln-formed glass
  • Jewelry: Kathy Mitchell, Judith Giusto, Karin Hardy, Martha Loving, Tamara Wight
  • Metalwork: John Arthur, flame-colored copper sculpture; Michael Harrigan, blacksmithing, decorative ironwork
  • Origami: Gail Martin
  • Photography: Daniel Doyle, Louise Giovanella, Janet Seaburg, Lynn Clauer (incoming, Dec. 6)
  • Pottery: Laura Fall, Ken Martin
  • Woodwork: Dennis Grage, burl carving; Peter Jensen, furniture, lamps
  • Beeswax candles: Karen Emerson

About Addison County Chamber of Commerce

The Addison County Chamber of Commerce (ACCOC) is an association of individuals representing business interests, working together to promote commercial business and tourism in Addison County.


Media Inquiries:

Sue Hoxie
Addison County Chamber of Commerce
93 Court Street
Middlebury VT  05753
p: 802-388-7951

Image Gallery:

A selection of hi-res images are available for download. Please credit: "Courtesy of Addison County Chamber of Commerce".

Be a Member